Diamonds are a girl’s best friend…

I was a bit hasty about the ring.

Having absolutely no experience with diamonds I had an idea in my head about how big the carat size would be, and when it arrived and was much smaller than I imagined, I panicked just a tiny bit.

However, I was assured by Hubster and the Jeweler across the street that my ring was indeed the size it was supposed to be.

I was a little hesitant about the color and clarity. This being the first black diamond I’ve ever seen I was unaware of what it would actually look like. Again, I had this idea in my head that a black diamond would be as black as an onyx and that just isn’t the case. I was again assured that my diamond, although not perfect by any means, is very typical of a black diamond.

Also, I at first had an issue with the simplicity of it. The ring is a simple solitaire in a white gold setting. I wanted to keep it simple because my wedding band is very simple and being that my wedding band is the most important ring I wear, I didn’t want the diamond to overpower it. It does go wonderfully with my wedding band. The only problem is that the rest of my jewelry is very very flashy (if you knew my mother, you’d know where I get it from. My sister is the same way. Hey Jess!!!) So, when I first saw the ring (and yes, I did see a picture of it online, but as mentioned previously I thought the stone would be much bigger and thus more flashy) in person I didn’t think it would go with the rest of my jewelry. But, considering I only wear a watch and my wedding band on my left hand, and go more crazy with my right hand in terms of jewelry, the ring actually fancies up the left hand more so than I thought it would at first.

So, all in all, if I were to return it and buy a different black diamond, chances are I’d get one that looked very similar to the one I have now.

Thus, we are keeping it and after wearing it for the past two days I have become quite smitten with it.

Just in time for Valentine’s Day.

1 Comment

  1. are you saying that i’m flashy? i’m not flashy. Do I look like I stepped out of the Bird Cage?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

